Sure sign of Spring ahead! | The Naturist Page


It’s coming! Yes, Spring! It’s going to finally going to be Spring like temperatures as early as Friday and this time it looks like it’s going to be here to stay this time. If you garden, it will be the perfect opportunity to get your garden prepped for seeding. However, depending where your from, I’d double check your local weather to make sure it’s the last frost before seeding. I’m going to wait a few days after I prepare my garden before I seed just to make sure.

During the week it might still be a little cool to start on that tan. However, if you can find a nice sunny spot with no wind you could get away with it easily! Double check the UV factor to see if it’s 6 or more to decide if your gonna need sun screen. Since it’s early in the season you don’t want to burn. Have a great weekend, from us here in Canada!

5 thoughts on “Sure sign of Spring ahead! | The Naturist Page

  1. I read somewhere that a guy built a portable tanning bed out of a 4′ × 8′ sheet of plywood and some aluminium foil. If I remember correctly, the sheet was cut into two pieces (one 30″ wide) lengthwise, each piece then shortened to 7′ and cut in half width-wise, resulting in four pieces, two 2.5′ × 3.5′ and two 1.5′ × 3.5′. Using piano hinges, each pair of these pieces (one narrow, one wide) were hinged together lengthwise. Then the two pairs were hinged together on one end of each pair by joining just the widest side with the corresponding side of other, thereby allowing it all to fold up for easy transport. Four braces were made out of the two pieces that were cut off earlier. Each section was then covered in aluminium foil (glued on) on one side only, the side that you lay on. With everything set up, you have a tanning bed 2.5′ wide × 7′ long with a windbreak 1.5′ × 7′ along one side. Place it in the sunshine, facing the sun and back on to the wind, for an early start on your tan. Apparently, it worked and it felt quite warm lying on it. I never built one myself but I have been thinking about it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That sounds like a great idea to have, and I think I might try to make one myself, that way I can get an all around tan without having to do any flipping over and over to get the best all over tan. I appreciate you taking the time to post this in such details and more, I will have to go get some supplies and see how it works out for me.
      I will let you know what I can do, and if I am still handy to be able to create it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad you like the idea! I forgot to mention, the 4 braces are 6″ wide.
        Use the 2 shorter ones to the two sections of the windbreak together at the middle. Drill a hole 2″ in from each end and holes in the windbreak to correspond. Use bolts, washers and wing nuts for fasteners.
        Use the 2 longer ones as diagonal struts to brace the ends. You will need 4 blocks of wood (approx. 1″ × 1.5″ × 4″), screw one onto the end of each section, with a transverse hole drilled through the middle. Use same kind of bolts, washers and wing nuts for fasteners.
        For transport when folded, wrap a few bungee cords around it. Sand down the edges of the wood so you don’t get splinters in your hands. Plywood is notorious for splinters.
        Enjoy!

        Like

  2. That sounds like a great idea to have, and I think I might try to make one myself, that way I can get an all around tan without having to do any flipping over and over to get the best all over tan. I appreciate you taking the time to post this in such details and more, I will have to go get some supplies and see how it works out for me.
    I will let you know what I can do, and if I am still handy to be able to create it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

